MajuLab, International Joint Research Unit UMI 3654

CNRS, Université Côte d’Azur, Sorbonne Université,
National University of Singapore, Nanyang Technological University

Supervisory authorities


Our partners


Home page > About us

UMI MajuLab timeline

by MajuLab editor - published on , updated on

The scientific collaboration which culminated with the creation, in May 2014, of the UMI MajuLab started in July 2005 when Christian Miniatura joined Berthold-Georg Englert’s group at the Department of Physics of NUS as a Visiting Research Professor. At the time, along with the project for a Research Centre of Excellence in quantum technologies (the Centre for Quantum Technologies - CQT), a joint collaboration project was proposed to CNRS and CQT aiming at developping at CQT teams working in the field of degenerate quantum gases (FermiCold project led by Christian Miniatura) and in the field of quantum computing (Quantum Computing project led by Miklos Santha). This partnership, involving the Institut Non Linéaire de Nice (INLN, UNS), the Laboratoire Kastler-Brossel (LKB, ENS, UPMC) and the Laboratoire de Recherche en Infomatique (LRI, UP11), got approved in March 2008 after proper scientific evaluation by both parties.

The collaboration got started with a CNRS collaborative funding (PICS 4159, « Quantum Mesoscopic Physics with ultracold quantum gases ») in 2008 and three French researchers were seconded at CQT (Benoît Grémaud and Christian Miniatura in July 2008, David Wilkowski in February 2009), whereas Miklos Santha became a long-term visitor and then PI at CQT.

A MoU was subsequently signed between CNRS and NUS in June 2009 and an International Associate Lab (LIA FSQL – France Singapore Quantum Physics and Information Lab) was created in January 2010 to formalize further this scientific partnership. The LIA FSQL was headed by Christian Miniatura and Berthold-Georg Englert. Its University partners were UNS, UPMC, ENS and UP11.

Finally, in May 2014, the UMI MajuLab superseded the LIA FSQL. Its signatory partners are CNRS, UNS, NUS, NTU, soon to be joined by UPMC. The first term of the UMI runs from 1st January 2014 to 31st December 2017.

MajuLab has been evaluated in October 2017 and successfully renewed for 5 more years of research, until the end of 2022. Sorbonne Université (SU) is now officially a supervisory authority in MajuLab.